Ulrich von Schroeder

North-Eastern India: Pala Schools 

During the Pala period, between the 8th and 12th centuries, the Buddhist monasteries of North-Eastern India were the most important centres of Mahayana and Vajrayana teachings. The universities included Bodhgaya, Nalanda, Vikramasila, and Odantapuri. These places not only attracted students from all over India and the Himalayas, but also from Tibet and places as far away as China. Missionaries to foreign countries and visitors on their way home carried not only manuscripts with them, but also statues of all kinds, in addition to paintings on palm-leaf and cloth. This explains the impact of Pala art styles in every country professing Mahayana Buddhism, including all the regions of the Himalayas and Tibet. As a result of the Muslims conquest, monastic Buddhism disappeared in Northern India at the end of the 12th century.

7

9

11

    The craftsmanship of the Pala artisans in North-Eastern India, especially during the 11th/12th centuries, resembles more the works of jewellers than the craft of metal workers. Among the statues of the Alain Bordier collection is a rare Buddha statue. This brass image represents an ancient replica of the most sacred Buddha image in the whole world – the stone statue of Buddha Sakyamuni inside the Mahabodhi Stupa at Bodhgaya (7). Prior to the Muslim invasion of Northern India at the end of the 12th century, this stone Buddha, dating from the 10th century, had been removed and was only reinstalled in the late 19th century. Between the 14th and 19th centuries a Burmese brick statue, erected between 1295 and 1298,  occupied the sanctum of the most famous existing Buddhist temple. This explains why numerous Tibetan and Nepalese statues and paintings depicting the Sakyamuni installed in the Mahabodhi Stupa resemble Burmese Buddhas characterized by broad shoulders and short necks.

    Another small brass statue represents the Buddhist goddess Mahasri-Tara seated in the “attitude of ease” (lalitasana) on a double lotus pedestal (8). She displays the “gesture of the wheel of the law” (dharmacakra-mudra) and is lavishly bedecked with ornaments. According to the iconographic compendiums, the Mahasri-Tara is the only Tara displaying this gesture. A more aggressive stance radiates from Acala, who tramples on the defeated corpse of the Hindu god Ganesa (9). Acala brandishes in the right uplifted hand the sword as symbol of “cutting through ignorance”, and holds with the left hand, displayed in the gesture of threatening, the noose, an attribute of mainly wrathful deities to catch the enemies of Buddhism. Also worth attention is a miniature stone carving of Kapaladhara Hevajra united with Nairatmya (10). This image depicts the sixteen-armed form of the Yi dam Hevajra, with eight faces and four legs, paired with Nairatmya.

     The art of Pagan in Upper Burma was very much influenced by the Eastern Indian art styles. In particular the the Pala workshops were closely connected with the art of Pagan during the 11th and 12th centuries. Although numerous crowned Buddhas are known in the art of Pagan, images inlaid to such an extent with silver and copper are rare (11). The differences in style between North-Eastern India and Upper Burma are not striking but rather indicated by faint distinctions. Especially the modelling of the head, the upper torso, and the short necks, are distinguishable characteristics. Another illustrated image of Sakyamuni was carved of a yellowish-beige stone known in Myanmar as andagu (12). This statue documents an early transitional phase in the development of the Pagan Style based on the traditions of the Eastern Indian Pala Schools.

 

 

7.  Buddha Sakyamuni. N.-E. India; Late Pala style: 11th/12th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 18 cm

8.  Mahasri-Tara. N.-E. India; Late Pala style: 11th/12th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 11.3 cm

9.  Acala. N.-E. India; Late Pala style: 11th/12th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 12 cm

10.  Kapaladhara Hevajra. N.-E. India; Late Pala: 11th/12th century

       Dark grey stone (possibly phyllite). Height: 12.3 cm

11.  Crowned Buddha. Burma; Pagan Period: 12th century

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 11.2 cm

12.  Buddha Sakyamuni. Burma; Pagan Period: 11th century

       Yellowish beige andagu stone. Height: 9 cm

8

10

12

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on the museum and events that are being organized.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Ulrich von Schroeder

Nord-est de l’Inde : Ecoles Pala 

Pendant la période pala, entre le 8e et le 12e siècle, les monastères bouddhistes du nord-est de l'Inde étaient les centres les plus importants des enseignements du Mahayana et du Vajrayana. Les universités se situaient à Bodhgaya, Nalanda, Vikramasila et Odantapuri. Ces lieux attiraient non seulement des étudiants de toute l'Inde et de l'Himalaya, mais aussi du Tibet et de pays aussi éloignés que la Chine. Les missionnaires qui partaient à l'étranger et les visiteurs sur le chemin du retour emportaient non seulement des manuscrits, mais aussi des statues de toutes sortes, ainsi que des peintures sur feuille de palmier et sur tissu. Cela explique l'impact des styles artistiques pala dans tous les pays professant le bouddhisme mahayana, y compris dans toutes les régions de l'Himalaya et du Tibet. Suite aux conquêtes musulmanes, le bouddhisme monastique disparut du nord de l'Inde à la fin du 12e siècle. 

7

9

11

    Le travail des artisans de la période pala dans le nord-est de l'Inde, en particulier au cours des 11e / 12e siècles, ressemble en définitive plus au travail de bijoutiers qu'à celui de métallurgistes. Parmi les pièces de la collection Alain Bordier se trouve une statue de Bouddha très rare. Cette statue en laiton est une réplique ancienne de l'image de Bouddha la plus sacrée du monde entier, à savoir, la statue de pierre de Bouddha Shakyamuni à l'intérieur du stupa Mahabodhi à Bodhgaya (7). Avant l'invasion musulmane du nord de l'Inde à la fin du 12e siècle, ce Bouddha en pierre, datant du 10e siècle, avait été enlevé et n'a été réinstallé qu'à la fin du 19e siècle. Entre le 14e et le 19e siècle, une statue en brique birmane, érigée entre 1295 et 1298, occupait le sanctuaire du temple bouddhiste le plus célèbre jamais connu. Cela explique pourquoi de nombreuses statues et peintures tibétaines et népalaises représentant Shakyamuni installé dans le stupa de Mahabodhi ressemblent à des bouddhas birmans caractérisés par leurs épaules larges et leur cou court. 

    Une autre petite statue en laiton représente la déesse bouddhiste Mahashri-Tara assise dans « l'attitude d’aise » (lalitasana) sur un piédestal en forme de double lotus (8). Elle effectue le « geste de la roue du dharma » (dharmachakra-mudra) et elle est richement parée de bijoux. Selon les recueils iconographiques, la Mahasri-Tara est la seule Tara qui exécute ce geste. Une position plus agressive est incarnée par Acala, qui piétine le cadavre vaincu du dieu hindou Ganesh (9). Dans sa main droite levée, Acala brandit l'épée qui symbolise l’acte de « couper à travers l'ignorance » ; dans la main gauche qui effectue un geste de menace, il tient le nœud coulant, principalement un attribut de divinités courroucées qui leur permet d’attraper les ennemis du bouddhisme. La sculpture en pierre miniature de Kapaladhara Hevajra unie à Nairatmya (10) mérite également l'attention. Cette statue représente la forme à seize bras du Yidam Hevajra, avec huit visages et quatre jambes, en union avec Nairatmya. 

     L'art de Pagan en Haute-Birmanie a été amplement influencé par les styles artistiques d’Inde orientale. Les ateliers Pala en particulier étaient étroitement liés à l'art pagan des 11e et 12e siècles.  Bien que l’on rencontre de nombreux bouddhas couronnés dans l'art Pagan, les statues incrustées avec autant d'argent et de cuivre sont rares (11). Les différences de style entre le nord-est de l'Inde et la Haute-Birmanie ne sont pas frappantes mais sont plutôt soulignées par de petits détails, comme la modélisation de la tête, du haut du torse et des cous courts qui représentent des caractéristiques bien distinctes. Cette autre représentation de Shakyamuni a été sculptée dans une pierre beige jaunâtre connue au Myanmar sous le nom d'andagu (12). Cette statue témoigne d’une phase de transition précoce dans le développement du style Pagan basé sur les traditions des écoles Pala d’Inde orientale. 

 

 

7.  Bouddha Shakyamuni. Nord-est de l’Inde : style Pala tardif ; 11e /12e siècle

     Laiton ; fonte creuse. Incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 18 cm

8.  Mahasri-Tara. Nord-est de l’Inde : style Pala tardif ; 11e/12e siècle

     Laiton ; fonte creuse. Incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 11.3 cm

9.  Acala. N.-E. India: Nord-est de l’Inde : style Pala tardif ; 11e/12e siècle

     Laiton ; fonte creuse. Incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 12 cm

10.  Kapaladhara Hevajra. Nord-est de l’Inde : style Pala tardif ; 11e/12e siècle

       Pierre gris foncé (peut-être de la phyllite). Hauteur : 12.3 cm

11.  Bouddha couronné. Birmanie : période Pagan ; 12e siècle

       Laiton. Incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 11.2 cm

12.  Bouddha Shakyamuni. Birmanie : période Pagan ; 11e siècle

       Andagu, pierre beige jaunâtre. Hauteur : 9 cm

8

10

12

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour recevoir les dernières informations sur le musée et les événements qui y sont organisés.

Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram