Ulrich von Schroeder

Tibetan Gilt Copper Traditions

When Buddhism was introduced to the Tibetan court during the 7th century, this religion had already been practised in all surrounding countries for at least 500 years. According to legend, the first Buddhist images were brought to Tibet by the Chinese and Nepalese wives of King Songtsen Gampo. During the introduction of Buddhism the Tibetans depended in many aspects on foreign assistance. In addition to the missionaries and translators from India, Nepal, Central Asia, and China, there was also a need for skilled artists. At that time no Tibetan artists were available to produce the statues and paintings needed for daily practice. During the “first propagation” of Buddhism in Tibet, veteran artists from North-Western India and Newars from the Kathmandu Valley helped fill this gap. During the “second propagation” from the late 10th century onward, the influence of North-Eastern India prevailed. This was not only with regard to teachers and translators, but also with craftsmen. 

25

27

29

Naturally, over the course of time more and more Tibetan artists acquired the necessary skills. The Indian and Nepalese artists from whom the Tibetans learned the crafts of casting Buddhist statues used two principal methods. The artists from Northern Indian and the Western Himalaya favoured brass, often inlaid with silver and copper (1–9). The Newar artists from the Kathmandu Valley in Nepal clearly preferred gilt copper (19–24). It is therefore appropriate to divide the Tibetan metal images accordingly: “Tibetan gilt copper traditions” (25–30) and “Tibetan brass traditions” (31–36).

    Tantric meditation practice aims to maintain a clear state of mind, to develop a positive energy and a creative synthesis in the union of opposites on a higher level. Couples in sexual union, illustrated here by two gilt copper sculptures, symbolically represent the union of male and female energy. One shows Rakta-Yamari united with Svabha-Prajna (25), the other Cakrasamvara united with Vajravarahi (27). The artists who created these masterpieces of such complexity in most cases remain anonymous. Nevertheless, Nepalese influence or active participation is to be expected. Illustrated also is an example of a wrathful female manifestation depicted as a Dakini or Yogini, a type of divinity that has its origin in pre-Buddhist female demons of cremation grounds (26).

    Depending on size and complexity, images could be cast in one piece or had to be assembled from several separately cast parts, as in the case of the illustrated Manjughosa (28). The beauty of statues could be increased with the setting of precious stones. The Nepalese used translucent stones like rubies, emeralds, and rock crystal. The Tibetans preferred turquoise in addition to coral, lapis lazuli, and amber.

    In all religious traditions, including Buddhism, teachers are of essential importance in preserving a particular tradition and handing it down from one generation to the next. This is also the case in Tibetan Vajrayana Buddhism, were it became custom to create portrait sculptures of great teachers. The names of the two illustrated teachers are recorded by Tibetan inscriptions: The bearded portrait statue depicts Chos kyi rje grags pa ’byung gnas (29). However, he still needs to be identified with a known master. The other teacher is identified by the inscription as dKon mchog rgyal mtshan dpal bzang po, possibly identical with Könchog Gyaltsen (1388–1469), the 2nd abbot of Ngor (30). Naturally, it is somehow a paradox to create portrait statues of great masters who upheld a tradition directed towards the dissolution of the ego and believed in the impermanence of all manifestations.

 

 

25.  Rakta-Yamari. Tibetan gilt copper traditions: 12th century

       Gilt copper; hollow cast. Height: 19 cm

26.  Vajrayogini. Tibetan gilt copper traditions: 15th century

       Gilt copper; inset with turquoise. Height: 24 cm

27.  Cakrasamvara. Tibetan gilt copper traditions: 15th century

       Gilt copper; inset with turquoise. Height: 28.5 cm

28.  Manjugosha. Tibetan gilt copper traditions: 13th century

       Gilt copper; assembled from several parts. Height: 68 cm

29.  Chökyi Je Drakpa Jungne. Tibet: 16th/17th century

       Gilt copper; hollow cast. Height: 29.5 cm

30.  Könchog Gyaltsen (1388–1469). Tibet: 15th century

       Monk hollow cast in silver and parcel gilt. Height: 17 cm

26

28

30

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on the museum and events that are being organized.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Ulrich von Schroeder

Traditions tibétaines du cuivre doré 

Lorsque le bouddhisme a été introduit à la cour tibétaine au 7e siècle, cette religion était déjà pratiquée dans tous les pays environnants depuis au moins 500 ans. Selon la légende, les premières images bouddhistes ont été apportées au Tibet par les épouses, l’une chinoise et l’autre népalaise, du roi Songtsen Gampo. Lors de l’arrivée du bouddhisme, les Tibétains dépendaient à bien des égards de l'aide étrangère. A côté des missionnaires et des traducteurs en provenance d'Inde, du Népal, d'Asie centrale et de Chine, on avait également un grand besoin d'artistes qualifiés. A cette époque, aucun artiste tibétain n'était en mesure de produire les statues et peintures nécessaires à la pratique quotidienne. Pendant la « première propagation » du bouddhisme au Tibet, des artistes expérimentés du nord-ouest de l'Inde, ainsi que des Newars de la vallée de Katmandou ont permis de combler ce manque. Au cours de la « deuxième propagation », à partir de la fin du Xe siècle, c’est l'influence du nord-est de l'Inde qui a prévalu. Et cela ne concernait pas seulement les enseignants et les traducteurs, mais aussi les artisans. 

25

27

29

Naturellement, au fil du temps, de plus en plus d'artistes tibétains ont acquis les compétences nécessaires. Les artistes indiens et népalais, de qui les Tibétains ont appris l'art de mouler des statues bouddhistes, ont utilisé deux méthodes principales. Les artistes du nord de l'Inde et de l'Himalaya occidental privilégiaient le laiton, souvent incrusté d'argent et de cuivre (1–9), alors que les artistes Newars de la vallée de Katmandou au Népal préféraient clairement le cuivre doré (19-24). Il convient donc de diviser les statues métalliques tibétaines en conséquence : « traditions tibétaines en cuivre doré » (25-30) et « traditions tibétaines en laiton » (31–36).

    La pratique de la méditation tantrique vise à maintenir un état d'esprit clair, ainsi qu’à développer une énergie positive et une synthèse créative dans l'union des contraires à un niveau supérieur. Les couples en union sexuelle, illustrés ici par deux sculptures en cuivre doré, représentent symboliquement l'union de l'énergie masculine et féminine. L'une représente Rakta-Yamari uni à Svabha-Prajna (25) et l'autre Cakrasamvara uni à Vajravarahi (27). Les artistes qui ont créé ces chefs-d'œuvre d'une telle complexité restent dans la plupart des cas anonymes. On peut cependant s'attendre à y trouver une influence népalaise ou même une participation active. Pour illustrer cela, on peut signaler cet exemple d'une manifestation féminine courroucée, représentée comme une Dakini ou une Yogini, un type de divinité qui trouve son origine dans les démons féminins pré-bouddhistes qui régnaient sur les lieux de crémation (26).

    Selon la taille et la complexité, les statues peuvent être coulées en une seule pièce ou doivent, le cas échéant être assemblées à partir de plusieurs pièces moulées séparément, comme dans le cas de cette statue de Manjughosa (28). La beauté des statues pouvait également être réhaussée par l’inscrustation de pierres précieuses. Les Népalais utilisaient des pierres translucides comme des rubis, des émeraudes et du cristal de roche. Les Tibétains, quant à eux, préféraient la turquoise combinée avec du corail, du lapis-lazuli et de l'ambre. 

    Dans toutes les traditions religieuses, y compris le bouddhisme, les enseignants sont d'une importance cruciale pour préserver une tradition particulière et la transmettre d'une génération à l'autre. C'est également le cas dans le vajrayana, bouddhisme tibétain, où il est coutume de dressr, sous forme de sculptures, les portraits de grands professeurs. Ici, les noms des deux maîtres représentés sont inscrits en écriture tibétaine : la statue du barbu représente Chos kyi rje grags pa ’byung gnas (29). Cependant, il doit encore être identifié avec un maître connu. L'autre enseignant est identifié par l'inscription comme dKon mchog rgyal mtshan dpal bzang po, peut-être identique à Koenchog Gyaltsen (1388-1469), le 2e abbé de Ngor (30).  Bien entendu, on peut voir un paradoxe dans le fait de créer des statues de portraits de grands maîtres qui soutiennent une tradition orientée vers la dissolution de l'ego et croient à l'impermanence de toutes les manifestations. 

 

 

25.  Rakta-Yamari. Tradition tibétaine du cuivre doré ; 12e siècle 

       Cuivre doré ; fonte creuse. Hauteur : 19 cm

26.  Vajrayogini. Tradition tibétaine du cuivre doré ; 15e siècle 

       Cuivre doré ; incrusté de turquoises. Hauteur : 24 cm

27.  Cakrasamvara. Tradition tibétaine du cuivre doré ; 15e siècle

       Cuivre doré ; incrusté de turquoises. Hauteur : 28.5 cm

28.  Manjugosha. Tradition tibétaine du cuivre doré ; 13e siècle

       Cuivre doré ; assemblée en plusieurs parties. Hauteur : 68 cm

29.  Chökyi Je Drakpa Jungne. Tibet ; 16e /17e siècle

       Cuivre doré ; fonte creuse. Hauteur : 29.5 cm

30.  Könchog Gyaltsen (1388–1469). Tibet ; 15e siècle

26

28

30

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour recevoir les dernières informations sur le musée et les événements qui y sont organisés.

Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram