Subsribe to our newsletter to receive the lates updates about the museum
and events that are organised.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

1/1

Buddhist Art in Gruyères

HISTORY OF THE MUSEUM

This collection, assembled with care and respect by Alain Bordier, presents more than 350 works of Himalayan art from the 6th to 18th centuries. The sculptures, paintings and ritual objects come from Tibet, Nepal, Kashmir, Northern India and Burma. They represent deities and ritual objects used for meditation and are an expression of inner qualities such as devotion and knowledge of the very essence of the mind.

 

The immersion in the beauty of art takes place in the peaceful setting of a historic building with its former chapel. In Buddhism, seeing, hearing, memory and touch are the four sources of liberation; contemplating these objects, even for a moment, can initiate an inner transformation. The beauty of the various exhibits can certainly assist the inner development of visitors, going beyond cultures, affiliations and beliefs.

 

The Tibet Museum is located in the former pastoral building and chapel of St. Joseph.

The Tibetan Museum resides within the ancient chapel of Saint Joseph

HISTORY OF THE BUIDLING

The Tibet Museum has found its home in the pastoral building and Chapel dedicated to St. Joseph of the former Château Saint-Germain. From the end of the 19th century, it housed an institute for deaf children run by Catholic nuns. They wished to offer these children access to communication and, by extension, to the world and to society.

 

In 1920, when the nuns left Gruyères, the building and the chapel were bought by a private family. From then on the chapel served as a storage room and sometimes even as a playroom for the village children.

 

The religious symbolism of the chapel is significant. In addition to Christ, Mary and Joseph, a stained glass window shows Saint Pancras who is considered to be a healer and protector of the herds. On one of the walls of the chapel, a fresco depicts Saint Francis of Assisi. He spoke with the birds, just like his Tibetan contemporary Milarepa who also looked at his winged brothers and all living beings with love and compassion. On another painting, Christ heals a deaf young man by saying to him:

 

"Open up! (Ephphetha)"

 

By installing the Tibet Museum in this pastoral building and chapel, the Alain Bordier Foundation has chosen to perpetuate the vocation of this place. On the one hand, the foundation offers access to Himalayan Buddhist art and philosophy while at the same time making this historical chapel accessible to the public again.

 

The museum is a place of respectful openness that enables the encounter of two worlds that may seem so different and yet stem from the same humanity.

L’art bouddhique à Gruyères

 

L’histoire du musee

 

Assemblée avec soin et respect par Alain Bordier, cette collection présente plus de 300 œuvres d’art himalayen datant du 6ème au 18ème siècle. Les sculptures, peintures et objets rituels proviennent du Tibet, du Népal, du Cachemire, du nord de l’Inde et de la Birmanie. Ils représentent des dieux, des déités et des objets servant à la méditation et exprimant extérieurement les qualités intérieures que sont la dévotion et la compréhension de l’essence même de l’esprit.

Le désir le plus cher d’Alain Bordier a toujours été de partager sa fascination avec le plus grand nombre et surtout, de préserver et de garder ensemble ces objets miraculeusement conservés.

L’immersion dans la beauté de l’art et la découverte des objets se font paisiblement dans le cadre d’un bâtiment historique et de son ancienne chapelle. Pour le bouddhisme, la vue, l’ouïe, le souvenir et le toucher, sont les quatre sources de libération ; contempler ces objets d’un seul regard, ne serait-ce qu’un instant, est certainement le gage d’une transformation intérieure. La beauté manifestée par les différentes pièces exposées contribuera sûrement à l’épanouissement intérieur des visiteurs, par delà les cultures, les appartenances et les convictions.

La maison abritant le Tibet Museum est l’aumônerie et la chapelle Saint-Joseph.

 

La maison abritant le Tibet Museum est l’aumônerie et chapelle Saint Joseph.

 

l’historique du lieu

 

Le Tibet Museum a trouvé demeure dans l’aumônerie et la chapelle Saint-Joseph de l’ancien Château Saint-Germain, qui, dès la fin du 19ème siècle, héberge un institut pour enfants sourds et muets dirigé par des religieuses catholiques. Elles souhaitent offrir à ses enfants un accès à la communication et, par extension, leur ouvrir l’accès au monde et aux autres.

En 1920, quand les religieuses quittent Gruyères, l’aumônerie et la chapelle sont rachetées par une famille privée et désormais la chapelle sert de salle de rangement et, parfois, de salle de jeu aux enfants du village.

La symbolique religieuse de la chapelle est très importante. En plus du Christ, de Marie et Joseph, on trouve sur un vitrail Saint-Pancrace, considéré comme guérisseur et protecteur des troupeaux. Sur un des murs de la chapelle, une fresque représente Saint François d’Assise parlant aux oiseaux, tout comme son contemporain tibétain, Milarépa, qui, lui aussi, considérait avec amour et compassion ses frères ailés ainsi que tous les êtres vivants. Sur une autre peinture, le Christ guérit un sourd-muet en lui disant : 

« Ouvre-toi ! (Ephphetha) »

En installant le Tibet Museum dans cette aumônerie et cette chapelle, la Fondation Alain Bordier a choisi, de perpétuer la vocation d’ouverture de cet endroit. Elle offre ainsi au public un accès à l’art et à la philosophie bouddhistes de l’Himalaya et lui ouvre les portes d’un monument historique religieux, dans un esprit de respect et d’ouverture.

Un lieu d’ouverture et d’enrichissement apte à rapprocher deux mondes pouvant paraître si différents et qui pourtant procèdent de la même humanité.