Ulrich von Schroeder

Tibetan Brass Traditions

The great geographical size of Tibet facilitated the development of different artistic traditions characterised by different foreign influences. With regard to metal alloys that were suitable for the casting of statues, there existed only two principal possibilities: either the use of copper or of brass, an alloy of copper and zinc. The choice of the alloy depended on the demand of the patron, whether the commissioned statue had to be gilt or not gilt. The Newar artists from Nepal preferred gilt copper. The gilt Tibetan statues in general have an affinity with Nepalese art. Using brass alloys for casting was a technique introduced in Tibet by artists from Kashmir (1–6) and also Northern India (7–9).

31

33

35

When studying Tibetan brass statues it becomes evident that there exist different traditions that developed more or less independently. With the exception of the monk portrait, all brass statues illustrated here reflect to various degrees stylistic influences of two particular Indian regions that used brass alloys for casting their statues. The tradition of casting statues in brass alloys entered Tibet from two sources, namely the greater area of Kashmir in North-Western India and the dominions of the Pala rulers of Bihar and Bengal in North-Eastern India. The influence of the art of Kashmir was especially felt in the kingdoms of Western Tibet where artists from Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh were active. The influence of the Pala traditions mainly affected the development of the artistic traditions of Central and Southern Tibet, where Nepalese influence was also felt strongly.

    The evolution of styles is a gradual process that cannot be explained in rational terms. It happens not by convention, but is rather the mirror of a gradual change of consciousness incorporating all aspects of human activities and experience. Both patrons and artists participate in the never-ending quest for aesthetic perfection. Four of the illustrated statues demonstrate the stylistic development of Tibetan sculptures within a period of about two hundred years. The earlier two statues of Aksobya and of the Green Tara date from about the 12th century and retain quite some archaic simplicity and naivety (31–32). The statues of Ratnasambhava and the other Green Tara were cast about two hundred years later during the 14th century (33–34). These latter two statues reflect more stylistic maturity and an improved technical experience.

    The contrasting colours of different metal alloys can be utilized to emphasize particular details of statues. The tradition of inlaying the eyes, especially of brass statues, with silver, or the mouth with copper, was introduced into Tibet from India. It was practiced earlier in the Swat and Kashmir regions of North-Western India, as well as in North-Eastern India. Relatively soft and malleable metals, such as gold, silver, copper, and tin, are especially suited for this purpose. The inlay tradition was later rendered obsolete by painting the faces of statues with “cold gold”. Two of the illustrated statues are excellent examples of the inlaying method. One represents a standing three-headed Avalokitesvara dating from the 12th or 13th century (35). The other image with facial expressions of a portrait-like character represents Dolpopa Sherab Gyaltsen (1292–1361) (36). This statue shows an example of the Byang lugs or “northern style” tradition of Western Tsang in Southern Tibet. This style is distinguished by a strong realism and often includes ornamentation in relief work. Two similar statues are in custody of the Lhasa Jokhang/Tsuglagkang, and all three were likely modelled with the help of matrixes, with the details finished individually.

 

 

31.  Aksobhya. Tibetan brass traditions: 12th century

       Brass; hollow cast. Height: 25.3 cm

32.  Syama-Tara. Tibetan brass traditions: 12th century

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 39 cm

33.  Ratnasambhava. Tibetan brass traditions: 14th century

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 42.3 cm

34.  Syama-Tara. Tibetan brass traditions: 14th century

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 21.5 cm

35.  Avalokitesvara. Tibetan brass traditions: 12th/13th century

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 58.5 cm

36.  Dolpopa Sherab Gyaltsen (1292–1361). Tibet: c. 1400

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 16.3 cm

32

34

36

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on the museum and events that are being organized.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Ulrich von Schroeder

Traditions tibétaines du laiton 

La grande taille géographique du Tibet a facilité le développement de nombreuses traditions artistiques caractérisées par leurs différentes influences étrangères. En ce qui concerne les alliages métalliques adaptés à la fonte des statues, il n'y avait essentiellement que deux options : l’utilisation du cuivre ou du laiton, un alliage de cuivre et de zinc. Le choix de l'alliage dépendait principalement de la demande du mécène, que la statue commandée soit dorée ou non dorée. Les artistes Newars du Népal ont pour leur part préféré le cuivre doré. On constate que les statues tibétaines dorées présentent de nombreux points communs avec l'art népalais. Quant à l'utilisation d'alliages de laiton pour la coulée, il s’agit d’une technique introduite au Tibet par des artistes du Cachemire (1–6) et du nord de l'Inde (7–9).

31

33

35

En étudiant les statues en laiton tibétaines, il devient évident qu'il existe différentes traditions qui se sont développées de manière plus ou moins indépendante. À l'exception des portraits de moines, toutes les statues en laiton présentées ici reflètent, à divers degrés, les influences stylistiques de deux régions indiennes particulières qui ont utilisé des alliages de laiton pour mouler leurs statues. La tradition de couler des statues en utilisant des alliages de laiton est entrée au Tibet à partir de deux sources : d’une part, la plus grande région du Cachemire dans le nord-ouest de l'Inde et, d’autre part, les dominions de dirigeants Pala du Bihar et du Bengale dans le nord-est de l'Inde. L'influence de l'art du Cachemire a été particulièrement ressentie dans les royaumes du Tibet occidental où des artistes du Cachemire et de l'Himachal Pradesh étaient en activité. L'influence des traditions Pala a principalement affecté le développement des traditions artistiques du Tibet central et méridional, où l'influence népalaise s'est également fortement ressentie. 

    L'évolution des styles est un processus graduel qui ne s'explique pas en termes rationnels. Cela ne se produit pas par convention, mais se fait plutôt le miroir d'un changement progressif des consciences incluant tous les aspects des activités et de l'expérience humaines. Les mécènes autant que les artistes participent à la quête sans fin de la perfection esthétique. Quatre des statues présentées ici montrent le développement stylistique des sculptures tibétaines en l'espace d'environ deux cents ans. Les deux premières statues d'Akshobya et de la Tara verte datent du XIIe siècle environ et conservent une certaine simplicité archaïque et naïveté (31–32). Les statues de Ratnasambhava et de l'autre Tara verte ont été coulées environ deux cents ans plus tard au cours du XIVe siècle (33–34). Ces deux dernières statues reflètent une plus grande maturité stylistique et une expérience technique qui va en s’améliorant. 

    Les couleurs contrastées de différents alliages métalliques peuvent être utilisées pour mettre en évidence les détails spécifiques des statues. La tradition d'incruster les yeux, en particulier des statues en laiton, avec de l'argent ou la bouche avec du cuivre, a été introduite au Tibet depuis l'Inde. Cette technique était pratiquée plus tôt dans les régions du Swat et du Cachemire du nord-ouest de l'Inde, ainsi que dans le nord-est de l'Inde. Les métaux relativement mous et malléables, tels que l'or, l'argent, le cuivre et l'étain, sont particulièrement adaptés à cette fin. La tradition de l'incrustation a ensuite été rendue obsolète et remplacer par la peinture des visages des statues à « l'or froid ». Deux des statues exposées sont d'excellents exemples de la méthode d'incrustation. L'une représente Avalokiteshvara à trois têtes, debout, datant du XIIe ou XIIIe siècle (35). L'autre statue, en forme de portrait, représente Dolpopa Sherab Gyaltsen (1292–1361) (36). Cette statue est un exemple de Byang lugs ou tradition de « style nordique » du Tsang occidental au sud du Tibet. Ce style se caractérise par un fort réalisme et comprend souvent des ornements en relief. Deux statues similaires sont détenues par le Lhasa Jokhang / Tsuglagkang, et toutes les trois ont probablement été réalisées à l'aide de matrices, sur lesquelles on est venu ajouter les détails individuellement. 

 

31.  Akshobhya. Tradition tibétaine du laiton ; 12e siècle

       Laiton ; fonte creuse. Hauteur : 25.3 cm

32.  Syama-Tara. Tradition tibétaine du laiton ; 12e siècle

       Laiton ; incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 39 cm

33.  Ratnasambhava. Tradition tibétaine du laiton ; 14e siècle

       Laiton ; incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 42.3 cm

34.  Syama-Tara. Tradition tibétaine du laiton ; 14e siècle

       Laiton ; incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 21.5 cm

35.  Avalokiteshvara. Tradition tibétaine du laiton ; 12e/13e siècle

       Laiton ; incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 58.5 cm

36.  Dolpopa Sherab Gyaltsen (1292–1361). Tibet ; env. 1400

       Laiton ; incrusté d’argent et de cuivre. Hauteur : 16.3 cm

32

34

36

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour recevoir les dernières informations sur le musée et les événements qui y sont organisés.

Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram